Opinions and thoughts of an expert ranter and raver

Artist Review: Ferry Corsten

It saddens me to say that this is legit the first time I have seen Ferry Corsten live, and actually lived to tell the tale.  I’m sure there dj_ferry_corsten-1440x900have been other times, early on in my raving “career” that I have caught bits and pieces of his set, but I was never that big of a fan of him up until a few years ago.  Let me just say, I don’t care WHO you are, Ferry Corsten is a legend and I don’t think there are enough words in my vocabulary to describe how amazing his performance was at Axis Radius in Scottsdale.  Literally everyone gathered on the dance floor and nobody left.  For the first time in a long long time, I got to be a part of a crowd that did not leave until Corsten got off the decks, which was around 2:30 in the morning.  Corsten had the entire crowd wrapped around his finger and just absolutely dominated the dance floor.  I make it a point to tune into his weekly radio show, where I never actually know what I’m going to hear.  Sometimes his show is extremely electro, other times its trance, but either way, I always enjoy it.  When I arrived to his show here in Scottsdale, Arizona I was not expecting a super trancey set, but more of a combination of electro and trance, and praying for everything else except for trouse.  What I got was honestly the best performance of 2013 so far. I was lucky enough to be front row (as usual) and danced the night away with the biggest smile ever on my face.  Corsten chose some of the greatest trance classics out there, in combination with all his new stuff, in combination with some great electro.  Everything about his performance is almost indescribable; the music he played, his energy, his smile, his crowd interaction, the flow of his set, the vibe from the crowd.  There was absolutely no way this experience was anything less than perfect.  2013 has been pretty great so far with all the different artists I’ve gotten to see, but Corsten’s performance definitely wins my award for best performance this year (so far).  I can’t stress enough that every single person that is a fun of EDM NEEDS to see him live.  He is incredible and also incredibly friendly.  Please do yourself the favor and take yourself to see Ferry Corsten live the next time he is in your city!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

