Opinions and thoughts of an expert ranter and raver

Artist Review: W&W

wandwSeeing as W&W has been rising to fame fast quite recently, I was expecting a generic trouse set from them.  On top of that, they were playing at my least favorite nightclub (Wild Knight in Scottsdale) and I was expecting the whole thing to be a clusterfuck.  For the sake of people that read my blog though (or glance at my “articles” for 5 seconds at a time), I figured I would attend this show since I’ve never seen W&W live before and you guys might like to know if they are worth seeing live or not.  The answer is yes. Yes, go see them live, yes they are amazing, yes they put on a wonderful performance.  Rather than the same old melodic trance I am used to hearing from trance acts, it was more of a darker tech trance sound, and I loved it! The song selection was great and it was definitely a different type of trance experience for me, as most of the tracks they chose were non-vocal.  They had a few classics tucked in there, but for the most part they played a lot of their own productions and had a really original-sounding set that I loved! The one complaint that I had (because I always have to complain about something) was their live mixing skills.  Their interaction with the crowd was awesome, I really felt like they were paying attention to the audience and dancing along with us, but I don’t necessarily feel like their music reflected it.  The build-ups and the break-downs weren’t all that intense and overall I felt like their set was really consistent, instead of making the crowd really go crazy and wowing us.  The tracks they played were great, like I said earlier, but I felt like they didn’t do anything to change the energy of the crowd and rather than choosing drops that would make everyone go nuts, there weren’t many of those moments at all.  I really love tech trance, and they killed it in that aspect, so I would definitely recommend seeing them live no matter what genre you’re into.  They don’t get into the really trancey stuff and they also don’t get really into the electro stuff.  They played a good mixture of both which resulted in a totally unique and darker sound.  If this seems like something that would interest you, definitely do not hesitate buying your ticket if they’re ever in your city!

Comments on: "Artist Review: W&W" (1)

  1. Hot 1000 Forever said:

    I recently started paying more attention to trance so im trying to get up on the real sounds of trance. This track sounds more electro to me though.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

