Opinions and thoughts of an expert ranter and raver

I’m not sure when most people started attending raves, started listening to EDM, or even where all of you began partying, but since I’m beginning to get a feel for all of you, I would like to share my personal story about my experience with “raving” so you can understand my background and where I came from.  Get your box of tissues because this is an emotional one and all of you are about to learn a whole lot about me that you didn’t even ask for. Here it goes:

me at 17In high school, although I looked seemingly normal and like I fit in, every day was a struggle for me.  I was so confused about myself that I didn’t know where I fit in.  Although I had a group of friends when I started high school, everyone moved on real fast and I was stuck on my own often feeling like a loner.  All of my friends from high school disappeared and I ate my way into obesity.  Nobody wanted to be my friend and I was stuck in a high school of over 2000 students and was constantly ashamed of myself.  I kept gaining weight and felt more and more alienated as I continued my education. I couldn’t believe my friends had “disowned” me  and I was left to fend for myself in a new body that I hated.  I hung around the weird nerdy kids at school, the theater geeks, because they accepted me and thats when I got turned on to raves.

I attended my first warehouse rave in 2006 at the age of 16 and couldn’t believe that everybody loved me for me. It became so addicting that I couldn’t stop.  All of the people in the warehouse looked like a bunch of outcasts and finally I felt like I could go somewhere where I kandielandwouldn’t be judged by my appearance or where I had come from. It was about partying, it was about the music, and it was about the secret society that you could only dream about venturing into.  We had “rave names” and everything was top secret.  Locations of events were word of mouth and instead of a popularity contest, it truly was about PLUR.  Through the help of all the kind strangers I encountered at raves, I was finally able to find the love for myself that all these people had for me.  I finally understood my identity and realized I wanted to do this for the rest of my life.  As much as I hate what the “rave scene” has become, I can never forget what it was and how much it changed my life.  “PLUR” doesn’t exist anymore and there is no secret society or family to welcome you when you attend events.  Instead its promoters wanting to take your money and image-obsessed partiers wanting to brag about their ventures while simultaneously flaunting their bodies and the outfits they spent hours making.  I no longer feel the comfort that I felt when I first started raving which is overall very heartbreaking and is why I only attend a few times a year.  The scene fell into the hands of the wrong people that looked at rave culture as a cash cow and it has now become an unstoppable trend.  I no longer feel the sense of community at raves or the underground vibes of people wanting to have a good time without caring what they look like.  Its a popularity contest for promoters, djs, and party-goers and I truly don’t believe these events should be classified as “raves”.

blur raveAs I said earlier, my love for electronic music conquers all and I will never stop attending, regardless of how much I usually hate everybody surrounding me.  Attending raves has changed my life and has been the inspiration in my writing (obviously).  I wouldn’t even be me if I wasn’t a raver, that is truly how I define myself.  There are still great people in the scene that exist, but damn how I miss the old scene.  I rarely feel comfortable going to EDM events because of the fact that there are now a million photographers and everyone comes dressed to impress.  There was a time when this shit didn’t matter and it was about a culture.  Although rave culture still exists (I guess) its nothing like it used to be. Instead of a hush hush thing like it used to be, its now the cool thing to do to be a raver.  I remember being a raver in high school and how nobody wanted anything to do with me because they just thought I was too weird to even acknowledge.  I understand how and why everything changed, but thats a whole different rant that I will get into someday.  I applaud those who love the music as much as I do and understand what PLUR is.  There is love for raves outside of the drugs, as much as everyone advertises their drug use, and I hope that all of you reading this post have been touched by my story.  I guess the bottom line is, music changes lives; EDM is my music of choice and I’m lucky to have seen what I have and experienced what I experienced.  For all of the people that never got to experience underground raves, I feel sorry for you because it was truly an amazing thing that may never be seen again.

Regardless of how mainstream our culture gets, there’s still going to be people there that know what PLUR is and have a true my first ravepassion for the music.  Attending these events have introduced me to some of the greatest people in the world and I don’t have any friends that AREN’T in the scene.  True EDM fans are a different breed of people and if you can relate to me, you understand how truly incredible it is to have these people in your life.  Some people would say the EDM scene in America has gone to complete shit, but my advice is to keep raving and keep loving what you’re doing.  There’s nothing that can bring the underground back or get all the idiots out of the scene. Keep being “PLUR” and loving, and maybe one day the scene will go back to the way it used to be.

Comments on: "Raving: The story of my life" (6)

  1. Hot 1000 Forever said:

    Yeah things won’t go back to the way they were that’s for sure. older people will tell you that the 2000s raves are nothing like the raves of the 90s. These days it’s all about everyone worshipping the *djofthemoment* and dressing up like you said. But look at the nature of the whole thing though. In my opinion you really can’t take it that seriously. The people that go to these things are irritating yes, which is why my aim to to be the one playing the music instead of being in the “crowd.”

    • Thank you so much for the positive feedback!!!! For me I think I take the subject of raving more seriously than I should. In high school I wasn’t involved in sports and honestly have gone most of my life without many hobbies or extracurricular activities. For me, raving was my “thing” and that was really the only way I have identified myself and everything that I’m into. Glad you’re on the same page as me 🙂 When did you start getting involved in the “scene”

  2. Hot 1000 Forever said:

    Also not sure if you are familiar with a book called “The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test” written in the 60s. It covers the Acid Tests held by Ken Kesey his Merry Pranksters. These Acid Tests were the precursors to todays raves lights music crazy costumes drugs colorful love and all. Yes theres alot of talk about drugs in the book buy hey it was the 60s. I highly suggest you check it out for a historical perspective on the “scene”. And if you have already then good for you, you know whats up then.

    • Of course I know what the book is, my dad has been trying to get me to read it for a while lol, he was definitely a hippie back in the day. In order to get my English degree I had to read like 25 book in the span of one semester, along with all my text books and other senior classes. I’ve been turned off of reading for a while now haha. I need to pick up a book sometime soon, maybe that will be my next one.

      • Hot 1000 Forever said:

        Yes, I think it’s excellent that you have your degree. You’re putting it to good use here. I have an epic collection of photos you can use for your site. You can see an example here: http://hot1000forever.tumblr.com/ site. If you think you need some, I can send you a link. P.S. I purposefully typed this correctly because you are an English major. ; D

  3. Hot 1000 Forever said:

    Yeah I been down since i bought my first daft punk cd “homework” back in 2001 i got totally turned out.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

