Opinions and thoughts of an expert ranter and raver

Calvin-Harris-vs-David-Guetta

Comments on: "My first vlog ever: Is Calvin Harris the next David Guetta?" (4)

  1. Props to you for having the guts to pull the trigger and record your first vlog. It’s not easy to put yourself out there only to have the world bash your opinions. The positive, you stuck to your topic and kept it short. The negative, why do you feel that a DJ who collaborates with a pop artists is a bad thing? EDM has evolved into this amazing cornucopia of sounds because of the unexpected collaborations between artists from other musical genres. Collaboration is the key to artistic expression.

    • I think you might have misunderstood my point, I never said it was a bad thing. I was just stating my prediction for Calvin Harris’ future. I guess the purpose of my rant was just to say he’s a mainstream artist and thats how he defines himself. David Guetta is also a mainstream EDM artist yet he gets a lot of shit, and I think his negative reputation is undeserved. I like his music and I don’t understand why people say he’s a sell out when he was never that famous in the underground anyways. I decided to compare Calvin Harris to him because I see similarities in their careers. People talk shit about really popular DJs saying that they’re sell-outs and other rude things, but in reality, none of these artists sold out because they were mainstream to begin with, does that make more sense?

      • You made your point clear the 1st time. I just don’t like to talk about the following subjects because it feels like we’re driving forward while facing backwards: Mainstream vs Underground and Educated vs Uneducated EDM fans. It’s music and it shouldn’t be complicated. Don’t get me wrong I’m a fan of you and I will support your success.

  2. Greg Wickherst said:

    I think it’s horrible that Guetta has a bad rep. He is rated the #1 DJ in the world, because he’s done what no other DJ has been able to do. Bring EDM to the mainstream radio. I applaud him for that! I’ve been raving since 1997. I wish they had been playing EDM on the radio a long time ago. It’s pretty awesome that nowadays, in a smaller town, in the middle of the afternoon, I can hear Swedish House Mafia blasting on the speakers. Thank God for Guetta!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

